Excuses, Excuses…It’s Time to Take Responsibility.

Matthew Villemaire
3 min readApr 4, 2018

Making excuses is one of the easiest things for me to do. It’s as if I have this massive word bank to pull from, a list of ‘go-to’ excuses that I use to justify just about anything.

“I’m too tired.”

“I’m not feeling great.”

“There’s not enough time.”

“I’ve got too much on my plate already.”

I could sit here and literally come up with a million and one excuses for reasons to avoid the gym, look for a new job, do laundry, go on a date, or whatever it may be.

Doing this 30-day writing challenge has shown me that excuses are easy, but they aren’t rewarding! There is zero pay off in making an excuse, you gain nothing.

It’s day 29, I haven’t missed a single day of writing or posting. In my first week, I was making a lot of excuses! I had come up with a plan to give myself one day off a week because writing for 30 days straight was too much, I would surely lose inspiration. But then I thought about all the times I took a day off from the gym, and suddenly one day turned into two, then three, then seven… and before I know it, I haven’t been to the gym in months.

There have been days where I sat in front of my laptop just staring at the screen thinking it’s not gonna happen today. The excuses started rolling in,

“ I have nothing interesting to write about today.”

“People won’t even read this.”

“I’m too tired, my writing is going to be shit anyway.”

However, I was determined to finally finish something I started. I pushed the excuses aside and always managed to find inspiration from deep within. A new idea eventually found it’s way into my head, and onto the page. Some of my best work was created on days where I dug a little deeper. Sure, it’s easier to write something when inspiration is accessible, when you know exactly what you want to talk about. But, there is something so gratifying about working past that struggle, blasting through a roadblock and speeding to the finish line.

“In life, you can blame a lot of people and you can wallow in self-pity, or you can pick yourself up and say, ‘Listen, I have to be responsible for myself.’” — Howard Schultz

Making excuses, blaming ourselves, blaming others, it’s all so easy!

I’m realizing that I am responsible for my happiness, my success, my health, and my life!

I have to take action if I want to see change.

This writing challenge has strengthened my creative muscles. It’s time to take this momentum and start applying it to other aspects of my life. Maybe a 30-day healthy living challenge is up next for me? :)

I don’t want an easy life, I want a fulfilling one. There is no fulfillment in excuses. It’s time to take action! Who’s with me?

“Man wearing headphones at desk with window view of sunset in background” by Simon Abrams on Unsplash

--

--

Matthew Villemaire

33, Toronto-Canada, LGBTQ+, Actor, Singer, Writer, Lover! ❤